Analog Chainsaw

Behold!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have known that my fiance was the one since the day I met her. Every so often she reaffirms my love in surprising ways. Early in our relationship we went on a three-day backpacking trip over the Great Continental Divide. I was working the day before liftoff and there were many sundries I needed her to acquire before our trek. One of the most important items on the list was a hatchet. I was a little nervous as it was our first big outdoor trip together. She had done a little camping as a kid but wasn’t terribly woodsy. To the uninitiated a hatchet may look like a small axe but it is so much more than that. A hatchet is an essential survival tool that will take you from a savage banging rocks together and make you a modern master of the wilderness. I got off work at 0230 and packed the car. While I was inventorying the gear I came across this little gem. My fiance had purchased, without any direction from me, the finest modern hatchet money can buy. I knew she was a keeper if her innate instinct led her to this handheld forest clearing machine. The Gerber Gator Combo Axe is handy, versatile, and indestructible. The handle is made of lightweight glass-injected nylon. This hatchet is all the more awesome because the handle is hollow and holds a small knife!don't call her molly

The head is made from forged steel and has a hammer back to pound in tent stakes. It only weighs 2 ounces and packs away easily. I was able to clear all that brush pictured above in only half an hour using this little axe. The knife easily cleans fish and small game while still holding a good edge. It’s held in place by a little magnet that is surprisingly strong. I’ve never had the knife come out even when I’m in full Paul Bunyan mode. This axe is an absolute outdoor essential that I never leave home without.

-Richard Hammack

Leave a Reply

